PDA

View Full Version : gps experts?

Lloyd Smale
12-15-2007, 02:35 PM
what do you think of the DeLorme Earthmate PN-20

Rick Hodges
12-15-2007, 03:28 PM
Lloyd,

I have no first hand experience with Delorme GPS's but just finished researching units to replace my old Garmin first generation GPS. The Delorme units didn't fare so well in the bulletin boards. Seems they were limited in features and only interfaced with their own programs. I do have a Delorme mapping program and I am less than satisfied with it.

An awful lot depends on what you want to do with the GPS and how much money you want to spend. I should warn you that I am an unabashed Garmin fan. I own an old 12XL and recently upgraded to a new Map60 Cx, a very capable unit but very pricey with the software I wanted.

"gpsinformation.net" has more information and evaluations of units than you can wade through in a week. Some of it is dated but it will bring you up to speed.

The camp that I hunt out of has had experience with Garmin and Magellin units. The garmins are the clear favorites. Most of the guys just use the basic E-Tec and are quite satisfied.

Rick

ktw
12-16-2007, 10:44 PM
We use Garmins exclusively for work (12, 72, 76map, Etrex, etc). I would not consider buying any other brand.

Garmins tend to be the easiest for me to get data into and out of when using them with PC based GIS and mapping software packages, which may or may not be a concern of yours.

-ktw

RBak
12-16-2007, 11:01 PM
Rick, I also have a Garmin 12XL, and a Garmin 240 Fishfinder. They are both great, and have served me well over the years.
However, I would like to repace the older 12XL, and like a lot of other folks, I am simply overwhelmed with all the new stuff.....:???:

I have hinted for about 6 months now that Santa should bring me a new GPS that I can use in the car, plus when I'm actually out in the woods and in need of one.

Thanks for the information on gpsinformation.net

Russ...

Lloyd Smale
12-17-2007, 07:25 AM