PDA

View Full Version : A question for our Truck Driver members

Dean D.
02-11-2014, 08:32 PM
I have purchased a 48' dry van in Dublin, CA and need to get it hauled up to the Spokane, WA area. Does anyone have a recommendation for a reputable "Power only, tow away transport company"? I've searched the internet and found many websites but have no clue on who would be best for the job. :roll: [smilie=1:

Any help would be very much appreciated! I've never done anything like this before and hope I don't have to again! LOL

tommag
02-11-2014, 08:46 PM
Not sure who, but be prepared forsome repair bills. Any lights, wheel deals, brakes, tires, etc. that aren't up to snuff will be fixed.

Dean D.
02-11-2014, 08:50 PM
I'm buying this van from a trailer sales company and one of the stipulations was that the trailer be road worthy and DOT legal. Got my fingers crossed on that one.

backroad
02-11-2014, 08:56 PM
Try rex&don they seem to due well.

starmac
02-11-2014, 09:04 PM
I don't know where they are, but my wife still has the power only info stored away, I would imagine. Trailer transit is a big one and does a lot of business in that area. They are not the one that I liked doing business with, but their name escapes me at the moment (not unusual) When she gets home I will see if she still has the numbers. One way transport was a power only company run by one of Dick Simons sons. I never pulled for them because they were cheap on the pay end, but they may be cheap on your end too.

Dean D.
02-11-2014, 09:29 PM
Thanks for the help guys, every bit is deeply appreciated.

To expand on my adventure, the reason I bought the van was to move my MIL's household goods up here. She priced using the "Pod" system and renting a large Uhaul truck and additional trailer to get all her stuff moved. In the end she would have spent as much or more than this van cost me including having it hauled. This way we will have a van to use for storage after the move is done.