PDA

View Full Version : 2 or 6, Aluminum or cast

50/50
02-09-2014, 07:20 PM
Ok guys, I'm a newbie not only to the site, but boolit casting in general. I've poured a lot of lead in my time, but never any boolits.

I know this has probably been hammered out somewhere before, and it's a lot like Chevy's & Fords, Vanilla & Chocolate, but other than quantity and speed is there an advantage/disadvantage of a 2 cavity vs a 6 cavity? I'm quite sure I recall in Handloader Magazine that Mike Venturino preferred 2 over 6. (I may be wrong). Is a 2 more precise? Now for the one that will probably get me shot by a stray boolit....is a cast iron mold better than aluminum? I know the latter is cheaper in price, but why does Lee make only aluminum, and all the others are made of cast iron or brass? There must be a reason.

I'm getting equipment together for the big start up this spring, and have decided on a Lee 20 lb bottom poor 120 volt furnace, a Star lube & sizer, and now I've got to purchase some molds. I'm sure I can't go wrong with any of them but I don't want to buy a mold, wishing later that I had something else.

Thank you very much! ----Linedock

TXGunNut
02-09-2014, 07:52 PM
I like them both but for large quantities and/or extended sessions the four to six cavity moulds are my choice. I haven't noticed any differences in the dimensions of multi-cav moulds but I'm sure it happens. Most consistency issues I've noticed can be attributed to my technique, not variations in the cavities. Some boolits are only available in one or two cavities and I enjoy using them but they sure seem slow compared to the big moulds. Steel/iron gets a little heavy during long sessions and the aluminum is easier and cheaper to make. I don't have any brass moulds yet but they have their fans here as well.

DLCTEX
02-09-2014, 08:19 PM