PDA

View Full Version : Any Musicians Here?

Clay M
02-07-2014, 03:34 PM
I am a guitarist.My wife and I play mostly old jazz standards from the 50 and before.

shredder
02-07-2014, 04:36 PM
I am a guitarist too. I play blues and rock. I always wanted an old jazz guitar with a big hollowbody and single pickup. There are some tones you can only get with a guitar like that in the right hands.

Clay M
02-07-2014, 05:14 PM
We use to have a blues band,but now it is just us two. We decided to do something different. I love playing the old timeless jazz songs.
I play a Gibson ES335.

Monttexan
02-07-2014, 05:14 PM
Don't know that I qualify yet. I'm slowly learning to play guitar. Emphasis on slowly. I can play a few chords, but can't change quick enough to turn them into anything. Someday....

Clay M
02-07-2014, 05:23 PM
It has taken me twenty years to get were I can play these jazz songs. The guitar is a slow ongoing learning process unless you are born with great talent.

Echo
02-07-2014, 06:15 PM
I don't claim to be an instrumentalist anymore, but I still call myself a musician, even though I haven't held an axe for over 50 years. Played trombone in a stage band, and the 'Clinic Dance Band' at UH in the early 50's.
Addendum: I picked up a baritone ukulele in the middle sixties - larger fretboard, and only 4 strings(!), so easier for these ham-like hands. Took it with me to SE Asia (Thailand) during the fracas (June '66 to July '67). My roommate played guitar, and taught me a few things. Probably because of the reputation Thailand had, my wife MADE me play a song for her when I got back to the Land of the Big BX, just to prove that I had actually been practicing. Still have it...

Fishman
02-07-2014, 08:15 PM
Don't know that I qualify yet. I'm slowly learning to play guitar. Emphasis on slowly. I can play a few chords, but can't change quick enough to turn them into anything. Someday....