PDA

View Full Version : What's your hollow point casting technique? Lyman devistator

Radarsonwheels
02-07-2014, 03:05 PM
I've seen the fancy multi cavity HP molds that slide around- I'm working with a Lyman single cavity .44 250g Lyman mold.

This is my first time casting bullets and of course I can't start with an easy setup because I'm a stubborn jerk. I have the Lyman book and I've spent days reading here and watching videos. My equipment is all collected but I'm confused by the HP pin.

I feel confident I'll be able to cast ok bullets and conquer the learning curve after some time working. I've read about how it's important to keep the HP pin hot and possibly cast a little hot to make good HP bullets.

The question I haven't seen answered anywhere yet is how do folks use the HP pin itself? Does the tension of the closed mold keep it from falling out until you pull it? Or do you have to keep the pin from falling out while you pour? Mine has a rim that I assume regulates the depth but it also has a c-clip on it. What is that for?

What is the order of operations? I assume after the sprue is sucked down and begins to cool the pin can be pulled? Is it easier to pull after you open the mold or does pulling it from a closed mold insure that it is pulled straight down and not messing up the meplat lips?

Any explanation of how you like to work a HP pin style mold would be helpful. Someday I'll get a fancy one that drops a bunch of boolits from sliding pins but I am happy to start with a challenge!

Kevin in bucks co. PA

geargnasher
02-07-2014, 03:17 PM
Close mould, close sprue plate, insert pin and twist to lock the e-clip under the screw head on the bottom. It will hold itself in. Then pour your boolit and sprue, cut the sprue, twist and pull out the pin, , open the blocks, drop the boolit out, repeat.