PDA

View Full Version : What is the best way to harden cast boolits?

Cobretti
02-03-2014, 12:33 PM
I am new at casting and I am still in the process of purchasing all the equipment. I've read about cast bullets needing to be hard. I am smelting wheel weights. Is there something else I should add to make the alloy harder? Does heat treating them work or dropping them in cold water after casting? Thank you for your input.

jmort
02-03-2014, 12:42 PM
Spend a few weeks reading all the stickies on this site and Lyman's Cast Bullet Manual and the all the articles in the link below from the LASC Cast Bullet Notes link at bottom of page. Sometimes you MAY want a "hard" boolit and most of the time not. If I needed hard Boolits I would heat treat a 93/3/3 alloy but most would think that is a waste of tin, not me, that would be the best possible alloy in my opinion for hunting/self-defense either heat treated or not depending on a lot of factors that are discussed in the stickies, threads, manuals, links, etc., etc. take some time and enjoy the learning process. One thread and a few posts will not get you where you need to be. I would not spend a dime until I put in some serious time educating myself.

454PB
02-03-2014, 12:44 PM
I don't know if it's the "best" way, but heat treating is probably the cheapest way. If you drop the boolits from the mould into cold water, within a week or so they will increase in hardness by 25% on up. Just be aware, they have to be sized shortly after casting.

Larry Gibson
02-03-2014, 01:10 PM
Water quenching out of the mould is the fastest and cheapest way to harden cast bullets. A good alloy for hardening is also needed.

Larry Gibson

gray wolf
02-03-2014, 02:00 PM
For your edification and long term knowledge base this is the best advise anyone could give you.
It could also be fun to learn something new, well actually you will learn a lot.