PDA

View Full Version : Puzzled .223 grouping 10" at 25 yds.!

Captain Capsize
02-01-2014, 09:13 PM
So, I have cast about 200 .225 44 grain boolits from my Lyman mold and shot about 50 of them today. I loaded them with 6,7,and 8 grains of Unique and about 10 with 6 grains of 231. I was shooting them out of my Savage model 24 o/u. Velocity between 1650 and 2050 fps from a 1:14 twist. I was expecting to be in the area of minute of squirrel at 75 yds. So I started shooting at 50 yds. I was getting quite a spread and complete misses so I moved target in to 25 yds. I am stunned at the lack of any grouping what so ever. I am getting a spread of about 10 inches at 25 yds! How can this be? The bullets are beautiful, hand selected, weighed to +- .2 gr., measured at .225" and concentric. They are gas check bullets but I am using them without checks. The Pb is melted down commercial .45 acp bullets with about 5 % tin. The ammo was carefully loaded and checked. The scope was checked for tightness. The rifle shoots 1/2" groups at 75 yds. with Winchester 55 gr. varmint loads. The barrel was thoroughly cleaned. The bullets are seated so they just touch the rifling. The bullet base is about even with the bottom of the case neck. Used Alox lube. Can't figure what I may have overlooked. I think I could have shot better groups if I had loaded my cases with kidney beans! Ideas anyone?

243winxb
02-01-2014, 09:21 PM
a 1:14 twist to slow? My guess

Ben
02-01-2014, 09:25 PM
They are gas check bullets but I am using them without checks.

There is your problem !

Gas check them and repeat things. I'm betting you'll see a big difference.

L Ross
02-01-2014, 09:26 PM
When ever I have something like that happen I go bigger in diameter. I would also try putting checks on those bullets.

Duke

243winxb
02-01-2014, 09:38 PM