PDA

View Full Version : Sizing Question

histed
01-30-2014, 09:32 PM
Not sure if this is the right area or not for this question, but here goes. I'm new to cast and I've been reading a lot - here, mostly. I've seen that some have a separate press for using the Lee sizing dies, keeping that separate from the reloading dies. As a beginner, I will likely tumble lube at first, though I am anxious to try some of the pan lubes I've see on here, So, my question is - do I really need a second press? If so, is the cheap Lee press enough to do this? My gut says yes to both questions, but I'm interested in what the experienced crowd has to say

country gent
01-30-2014, 09:42 PM
You can easily use the same press for doing both. Keep in mind that one press means changing over back and forth more but not a real big deal. The lee tunble lube works good for pistol and some rifle loads. Pan lubing opens more lubes to test try. For sizing with lee style die I use the little lee c- frame press. Its small light and the open front allows a lot of hand room. But almost any press will work for this.

pworley1
01-30-2014, 09:44 PM
One press is all you have to have. You will just have to change the dies as you need them. If you decide to use two, the lee press will be fine for sizing. You will soon learn that you always need one more press and one more set of dies no matter how many you have.

Down South
01-30-2014, 10:59 PM
One press will do it.

bangerjim
01-30-2014, 11:19 PM
It is a batch process!

One press.......many dies.

Do one process 50 times, change die, do next one 50 times....etc.

works for thousands of folks!

bangerjim

tg32-20
01-30-2014, 11:20 PM
I have a cheap Lee press, I do not even know the name of it, that I have used for years for sizing.
They are so cheap that there is no reason for not having one or two.
It frees up the other two presses for keeping dies in to reload.

Tom

Jeff H
01-31-2014, 12:13 AM