PDA

View Full Version : Dipping molds to preheat/pro or con

Boolseye
01-30-2014, 01:01 PM
I'm a dipper, and none of my molds have ever suffered for it (that I can see).
How many of you dip the corner in the melt to preheat, for how long, and have you ever seen damage as a result first-hand? I don't mean from dipping a stone-cold mold, which would obviously risk warpage.
-BE

bhn22
01-30-2014, 01:11 PM
I think most of us do it. I just make sure that I dip both mold halves equally, just because it seems to make sense.

Hondo 60
01-30-2014, 01:14 PM
I've done it in the past, but the mold has gotten too hot & then the melt stays melted.
(even after a minute in the mold)

So I just hang the mold above the melt now to warm it up.
But I'm no expert, I've only been casting about a year.

ShooterAZ
01-30-2014, 01:18 PM
It does work, and Iv'e done it. I prefer to just use a hot plate. If you do it, just dip a corner for 20-30 seconds or the mold will get too hot. One downside to this is getting lead on the inside face of the mold if you aren't careful, and getting lead into the holes for the pins.

Walter Laich
01-30-2014, 01:29 PM
I've done it but like the hot plate for overall uniform heating. I will say to each his own as there are always several methods in doing something

Victor N TN
01-30-2014, 01:34 PM
I've done it a FEW times. But the man that was my casting teacher, (we worked together) told me it was a bad habit. He told me to just balance the mold above the casting pot for 15 minutes and it should be good to go. At that time I had bought one of the Lee taller production pots. I got to where I would lay the mold I was going to use on top of the furnace when I turned the unit on. Buy the time the metal was liquid, the mold was good to go.

In my 40+ years of handloading and 15 or 20 years of bullet casting he had probably forgotten at that time than I'll ever learn. I guess some engineers DO have some common sense. hahaha

jonas302
01-30-2014, 01:44 PM