PDA

View Full Version : flux

dragonfire
12-09-2007, 07:56 AM
I plan on turning my ww's into ingots ,do i need to flux if i'm just making ingots? ,i have bar solder i plan on adding at a later date ,i'm new to this so any info is most helpful ,thanks.

wiljen
12-09-2007, 08:02 AM
It is a good idea to flux as you smelt so as to remove as much crap as possible. I'd rather remove the stuff early when working in a dutch oven than wait and try and get it out of my casting pot. Anything carbon based will work. I've used waxes, transmission fluid, sawdust, and recently have been stirring my pot with a 1.5" diameter dowel. Commercial fluxes work fine too, they just tend to cost more than sawdust, wax, etc and don't necessarily do anything the homebrew varieties don't do just as well.

dragonfire
12-09-2007, 08:06 AM
How much wax would you use to flux a 4 quart dutch oven?

Bret4207
12-09-2007, 09:01 AM