PDA

View Full Version : Converting a plain base mold

Steve E
01-24-2014, 03:05 PM
Is it feasible or economical to convert a plain base mold to a gas check mold. I have a plain base mold and you can't get it in a GC design and was wondering about a conversion. What say the experts?

Steve...........

375RUGER
01-24-2014, 03:20 PM
I'm no expert but I do know how to save 15% or more on your car insurance.
If it was cut down to the first GG that might work.
Another option is to use the design software at www.mountainmolds.com and copy it.

Larry Gibson
01-24-2014, 03:41 PM
Yes, you can mill the PB portion off the top of the mould to the lube groove. The lube groove usually is smaller diameter than a GC shank so it can then be reamed out to the right size for a GC shank. I've seen several done that way quite successfully and believe geargnasher did a 6.5 CM that way.

Larry Gibson

geargnasher
01-24-2014, 03:49 PM
I've seen at least one that had little plates added to the top of the mould blocks in order to "add" a gas check shank. If you are that talented and well-equipped, that may be an option. If you are like the rest of us, a custom mould is probably the only option to change the mould. If I were you, I'd simply email Accurate Molds and ask Tom to cut one to your exact design and specifications.

Another option is to buy or make a plain-base gas check maker. I've shot some plain-based rifle boolits that had soda-can checks installed and despite my skepticism, the worked quite well.

Gear

Catshooter
01-26-2014, 12:07 AM
Steve,

I don't know if you can do this, but I did:http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?68205-An-interesting-experiment-in-adding-the-gas-check-feature

Welcome to the forum.

Cat

fcvan
01-26-2014, 02:31 AM
Get a plain based gas CheckMaker from Pat Marlins and use thin soda can aluminum. I've got two for use in 35 and 45 caliber, and am thinking of getting another for 30 cal.

eljefeoz
01-26-2014, 08:52 AM