PDA

View Full Version : Which Dies?

barrycuda
01-23-2014, 03:55 PM
I am new to reloading and would like to start hand loading some 45-70 rounds. I have been doing a lot of reading and am ready to get started. Which dies would you recommend for loading black powder as well as smokeless powder or do I need dies for each type of powder? I will be shooting the BP cartridges in my W&R Buffalo Classic and probably only smokeless in my lever gun. Thanks.

Barry

Artful
01-23-2014, 04:39 PM
Any maker's dies will resize and load up - I like a Lyman "m" die to expanding the case when using cast

Ramar
01-23-2014, 05:07 PM
I was in your spot not too long ago and had many questions. The best advice I can give is read all the stickies and when done, read'em again and take notes.

The stickies could fill books and really cost ya, but free here..
Ramar

Char-Gar
01-23-2014, 05:11 PM
I am partial to Redding and RCBS dies.

troyboy
01-23-2014, 07:39 PM
The dies from any of the manufacturers will do. I would say the best value would be from Lee.

EDG
01-24-2014, 06:06 PM
The 45-70 needs a very good expander.

Lyman makes an excellent expander.

Redding and RCBS are pretty good.

The Lee expander is not to good but Track of the Wolf and Buffalo Arms make expanders in different sizes and work well but are an added expense.

Wayne Smith
01-24-2014, 06:24 PM
To specifically answer your question it doesn't matter, any maker's dies will do both. The only additional die you might want for the BP loads is a powder compression die and nobody includes that in a set. You can get one from Buffalo Arms if you find you need one. When loading cast boolits you will want an expander die.