PDA

View Full Version : Lead came

dokcop
01-23-2014, 08:31 AM
I'm a newbie to casting and looking for some info about "lead came", the channel lead used in making stained and leaded glass windows, lamps, etc. I have 2-300lbs of the stuff, which has white oxidation in places and is unusable for its original purpose.

The came is in the form of 36" long "H" channel strips and is very thin, very soft and very malleable. A lee hardness tester is useless, as it penetrates clear through the material. It melts almost instantly when a hot soldering iron is applied and flows very easily and evenly - much like 50/50 solder.

An internet search was of no help. One entry vaguely stated that came is "is made of lead, zinc and copper", but is not specific as to whether it is alloyed or not.

Given the extreme softness I think it is probably pure lead or lead with a tin content.
I'd like to know for sure before I use it for casting. Do any of you folks have experience with this stuff? Much obliged in advance for any info. Dokcop.

Hickory
01-23-2014, 08:49 AM
I found some about 16-17 years ago, you are right about it being very soft.
I tested it with my LBT hardness tester and could only get it to read 2-3 BHN.
Cast up a few round ball and have taken deer with them, only recovered one
round ball so far, flatten out nicely.
I still have about 30 lb left for muzzleloading boolits.

bobthenailer
01-23-2014, 09:03 AM
Be very carefull of the white oxidation its very TOXIC ! if your body touch it or it gets on your clothing ! WASH them now !!!!!

William Yanda
01-23-2014, 09:07 AM
Lead came
I opened this thread hoping to read that USPS or some other entity had delivered your order and that you were now ready to cast some boolits

jsizemore
01-23-2014, 03:33 PM