PDA

View Full Version : Melting Pots

leadmonkey
01-22-2014, 07:42 PM
I see a big variety of used casting equipment listed in the swappin & sellin section. One would think that there would be casting pots too, but in looking back several weeks, I haven't seen but one or two.

What makes them so rare? Is that the sort of thing that people hang onto? Just wonderin'.

Vinne
01-22-2014, 08:25 PM
I've been using mine for over 30 years. I picked up another 8 years ago and each will hold about 75#. I started out small and worked my way up over the years. Like most here you have to be lucky enough to run acress one or catch someone getting out of casting. Either way keep your eyes open and don't give up...you'll catch a deal one of these days. Until then don't be shy about starting small and living the good life.

BPShooter
01-22-2014, 08:33 PM
My Dad has a 20lb flat bottom cast iron pot, that he won't part with. I've been doing all the casting for several years, can't remember the last time he lit a fire under it. He's probably had it for 50 years, just can't part with it yet. Really good pots are rare, his is the only one I've ever seen that I really wanted.

CastingFool
01-22-2014, 09:27 PM
I use a helium tank (off one of those party packs where you get like 100 balloons and a tank of helium) cut in half to do my smelting. Sure it's thin, but it didn't cost me anything. It'll hold 30 lbs of lead easily.

pworley1
01-22-2014, 10:50 PM
Sometimes you find them when you don't expect to. I once found a 50# pot at the scrap metal yard while looking for lead. I got it for the price of scrap cast.

country gent
01-22-2014, 11:15 PM
I use a cast iron dutch oven for most casting and have a 30 lb pot for smaller batches. Any heavy steel pot or cast iron pan or pot will work. Most that have a pot are using it and wont give it up. Even when they upgrade to a bigger pot the old one is saved for other alloys or testing.

bangerjim
01-23-2014, 01:39 AM