PDA

View Full Version : Question about furnaces

kellyj00
12-07-2007, 12:15 PM
I'm about to buy a brand new Lee 10 pound bottom pour furnace from Midway to get started into casting.

I have two 45acp 6 cavity molds and some lead I've gotten through the very generous members of this forum. I can never say enough to share my gratitude with those who have given me so much in knowledge as well as materials.

I would like to know you alls opinions about the Lee furnace mentioned above. It's only $41, so I'm not sure if it's good quality. Also, I have no handles on the two 6 cavity molds and I'd like to know if I can use one set between both molds or if I should get two? I'm just beginning, thank you for your patience with my basic questions.

Thanks again.

bradh
12-07-2007, 12:33 PM
I cast 44 cal 240gr SWC at drains a Lee 10 pound smelter pretty fast. If you're going to cast
with a six cavity mouls I would go with the 20 pound smelter.

Rick N Bama
12-07-2007, 12:46 PM
You can use one set of handles for both molds but if you have some extra cash laying around, I would go ahead & get 2 sets, especially if Midway still has them on sale.

I would also go with the 20# pot, as I think you'll be much happier with it. When you get started casting with the 6 cavity mold, 10# simply would not last long at all.

Rick

gray wolf
12-07-2007, 12:48 PM
Two 6 bangers will drive you crazy trying to keep that little pot filled.
I have one (its my only one) and I like it a-lot. It is fine for my 1 and 2 cavity molds.
BUT when I use it with my H&G # 68 4 cavity I spend more time chasing hot lead than I do casting. It's just to small, Remember it does not hold 10#'s. I think mine gets about 7 1/2#'s
to fill it.
With that said I can still cast 500 bullets in about 3 hours. But that is with a trouble free
mold. I have to do tricks to keep the pot filled.
Spend the extra $$ and get the bigger pot you wont regret it.

GrizzLeeBear
12-07-2007, 01:50 PM