PDA

View Full Version : Powder for least flash in 45acp

69daytona
01-16-2014, 09:14 PM
I'm looking for a powder that will give the least amount of muzzle flash at night, anyone have any experience with this?

It's mostly for my carry gun for dark practice.

bhn22
01-16-2014, 09:29 PM
Ramshot Silhouette. Good luck finding it.

TMenezes
01-18-2014, 05:03 PM
Accurate is big on flash suppressed powders, I would try AA#2 for light powder puff loads and AA#5 for full power loads. I used to use AA#7 for max loads but never shot it at night so don't know. #7 is slower than #5 and I assume would flash slightly more as its a slower burner it would flash a bit more, but again, never shot it at night so not sure. Stay away from Blue Dot if flash is an issue.

By the way, I have been shooting night qualifications for 10 years and never really noticed much flash with my ammo (cheap 9mm Fiocci) in the academy or now with duty ammo (Federal Hydrashocks). I don't shoot my reloads at night, but I do shoot till about dusk and in semi dim indoor ranges and found flash to be a non issue.

Biggest flash I have seen was H110 44 mags a guy was shooting at said indoor range. The flash didn't seem to be bothering him guessing by the huge grin on his face. But I suppose it may have been annoying if I was in the stalls immediately to his left or right. It was the tremendous muzzle blast that really seemed to be getting everyone's aattention lol.

singleshot
01-18-2014, 05:10 PM
The fastest 45 acp loads in terms of powder rel burn rate is where you want to look. I've had good results with Red Dot, Titegroup, Trailboss, etc. Slower powders like HS-6 have decent muzzle flash and 2400 is downright spectacular. Strangely, I haven't noticed much muzzle flash from IMR 800X, but I'm not sure I've shot it at night.

TMenezes
01-18-2014, 05:30 PM