PDA

View Full Version : Getting started?!

Mechanicalmayham
01-16-2014, 12:23 PM
I am fairly new to casting boolits but not working with lead. I recently started casting cartridge boolits to some success but my friend is now going to join in. He has cast but mainly round ball for muzzleloaders. Together we are intending to cast 38s and 45acps as we both have these and shoot them just about every time we go out. I have large quantities of pure lead and ww as well as some 50/50 gutter solder and soldered chucks of flashing and shower pans. We are considering investing in a luber/sizer and I just made some Ben's Red lube. (I would like some green and blue but its not important. Wanted to use the lube color to distinguish bullet weights for same calibers.)
*Do you fine folks have any suggestions for us as we begin?
*I am wondering what recipes there are for ww and soldered lead? I realized zinc is bad but I do not know what the 50/50 bars are made of.
*As far as lube/sizing, are there dies that go into it to determine the size of the boolit?
*Do you think it premature to make Ben's?

R.M.
01-16-2014, 01:02 PM
As far as different colored lubes go, you'd want a different press for each one. Emptying one color for another would get old real fast.
The 38 and 45 are about the easiest to cast for. Good choice. Yes, a sizing press will take numerous dies, depending on the size you want/need.
Ben's Red is a great lube. That's all I use.

mold maker
01-16-2014, 01:15 PM