PDA

View Full Version : Advice? What is [pure] tin worth the boolit-caster?

Njal Thorgeirsson
01-13-2014, 03:23 PM
Today I bought my first large batch of wheel weights, and the seller included some 99.9% pure lab-grade tin. Neither of us really knew anything about it.

So without more unnecessary details, I was wondering if pure tin is worth anything to boolit-casters?

I know not that tin itself is quite valuable (~$10/pound), but I was not sure if there is really a market for it among boolit-casters. I am not that experienced with casting (and I am not particularly well-versed in the lengths people go to create preferred alloys), but it seems to me that in most situations, people don't see any need to add additional tin, despite tin's apparent ability to make boolits pour better.

So, being that wheel weights and other somewhat-common lead sources work pretty well for casting already, do a lot of people like to add additional tin? If so, is tin in short supply for casters? How much is tin worth to you as a caster?

Thanks!!!

bhn22
01-13-2014, 03:28 PM
Tin is important. It lowers the surface tension of lead based alloys, allowing better mold fillout at lower temps. It also can be used to harden the same alloys a bit. It also seems to make lead a bit more malleable.

dbosman
01-13-2014, 05:59 PM
If I can purchase tin, 95% tin solder, or pewter for under $10/lb, I pick it up.
My reason - I can get soft or nearly pure lead locally, but not enough wheel weights to make sorting worth while.

For rifle boolits, I can add a some hard shot or Roto Metals Super hard 30% Antimony.

JSnover
01-13-2014, 06:14 PM
RotoMetal has 99.9% for $18.99/lb.

Echo
01-13-2014, 11:50 PM
I have bought tin on eBay in the form of solder, pewter, and pure tin. I will pay $10/lb delivered, and be happy to do so. It is irreplaceable (AFAIK) in the casting game... So, 10 lbs of 50/50 solder would receive a bid from me for $50, including delivery.

blackthorn
01-14-2014, 12:10 PM