PDA

View Full Version : Best Beginner book?

kount_zer0
12-03-2007, 02:36 PM
Hello and thank you for a great forum. I'm not new to shooting, but having recently got a RBH in 45 Colt, I am new to cast boolits!

I always get a book to begin in any new "hobby", so which one is best for beginners?

crowbeaner
12-03-2007, 02:55 PM
The Lyman Cast Bullet Guide is a very good one to have. It has just about all you need for info. The RCBS cast bullet manual is also good.

Jon K
12-03-2007, 03:56 PM
kZ,

Welcome, and you came to the right place.

Ditto, Ditto, Lyman Book and Do a search here on casting, you'll find a lot under every topic you can list. If you can't find it just start a new thread.

Lots of Good info here.

Jon

:castmine::lovebooli[smilie=s:

JeffinNZ
12-03-2007, 05:16 PM
I agree however I also recommend the Wolf Publishing DVD of PDF files of all the cast bullet related material from Handloader and Rifle. LOTS of great info and reading for little $$$$.

Uncle R.
12-03-2007, 06:19 PM
The ABCs Of Reloading (1st Edition) by Dean Grennel has a very good section on casting. Some of the information will be outdated by now but overall it was an excellent introduction to the art.
I was a great fan of "The Old Curmudgeon" and his books. He was one of my early mentors of the silver stream.
:)
Uncle R.

TNsailorman
12-20-2007, 11:25 PM
+1 on the Lyman Cast Bullet Book and also on Dean Grennel's book.

Swamprat1052
12-21-2007, 12:43 AM
I have those books but I learned more from this site than from them. Oh the books are necessary read em and keep em for a quick reference. But if you want to find out how to do anything with casting, search this site and ask questions. These guys are great.

Swamprat

TNsailorman
12-21-2007, 02:53 PM
swamprat, you got that right. I'm learning. I found me a home.

eka
12-21-2007, 03:17 PM