PDA

View Full Version : Lee mould for round balls?

mac266
01-04-2014, 09:58 PM
Hey all, I've been casting pistol rounds for about 10 years or so, and am just branching out into rifles. What I've found with Lee moulds is they tend to be ok for pistol boolits. I didn't want to risk the quality issue with a rifle, so I bought an RCBS from a caster on this very site.

Now for the question: Does anyone use Lee moulds for round balls in their frontstuffers? I've acquired a lot of almost-pure lead and I figure I could make some round balls for the ol' frontstuffer. However, as with any rifle, I want it to be as accurate as possible. Will the Lee mould do the trick?

Hogdaddy
01-04-2014, 10:16 PM
Sure, The right mold (fit) will do fine ; )
H/D

rodwha
01-04-2014, 10:42 PM
I bought Lee RB molds in .457" and .490". They all look great with only an inkling of a sprue. But they are also a little small. I'm not sure if it's my casting, the heat, or the lead, which was a mix of lead piping and old BP bullets. I'm new to casting, and it very well could be me.

I've yet to try these cast RB's.

mooman76
01-04-2014, 10:51 PM
I use mostly Lees. Work great and after all they are just RBs so less to mess up.

GARD72977
01-04-2014, 11:52 PM
Let me say that I hate lee molds. But I really like there round ball molds. I have only cast with the 54 cal . It is one of my favorite molds and I would not hesitate to buy another one.

Maven
01-05-2014, 12:21 PM
"...as with any rifle, I want it to be as accurate as possible. Will the Lee mould do the trick?"

If the [Lee] mold drops a ball that fits your bore, it will work as you can adjust the patch thickness to suit. That said, I have several Lee RB molds, as well as Lyman, RCBS, Tanner, and Thompson Center, and the Lee's cast as uniformly and concentrically as the others. They are a great value!

Boogieman
01-07-2014, 12:23 AM