PDA

View Full Version : Question on 45 cal. mold

Tod
11-30-2007, 09:39 AM
I'm new at this so forgive my ignorance but I want to cast my own boolits for my 45 cal. flinter but not sure what size mold to get.:confused: Thanks Tod

StrawHat
11-30-2007, 10:02 AM
Tod,

With a muzzle loader you have a bit more latitude than with a cartridge gun.

First, who made the barrel and what do they recommend? It is always a safe bet to go with the makers suggestions, at least to start.

Also, do you plan on using a patched round ball or minie?

WIth a patched round ball, I have found it is best to be just under bore diameter and let the patch made it a snug fit and fill the rifling grooves..

With a minie, you are stuck with what the mold makers offer. You can beagle a mold to increase the diameter slightly and use a sizing die to decrease the diameter.

Also, how you intend to use the rifle? A target load is quite different from a hunting load.

So, while it may seem like this answer is not a lot of help, if you can answer these questions for us, lots of suggestions will be forthcoming.

Good luck

Tod
11-30-2007, 01:48 PM
Tod,

With a muzzle loader you have a bit more latitude than with a cartridge gun.

First, who made the barrel and what do they recommend? It is always a safe bet to go with the makers suggestions, at least to start.

Also, do you plan on using a patched round ball or minie?

WIth a patched round ball, I have found it is best to be just under bore diameter and let the patch made it a snug fit and fill the rifling grooves..

With a minie, you are stuck with what the mold makers offer. You can beagle a mold to increase the diameter slightly and use a sizing die to decrease the diameter.

Also, how you intend to use the rifle? A target load is quite different from a hunting load.

So, while it may seem like this answer is not a lot of help, if you can answer these questions for us, lots of suggestions will be forthcoming.

Good luck