PDA

View Full Version : First Post/Question: Lyman 429421 and alloy selection.

LowNleft
12-28-2013, 03:55 PM
I'm just getting started accumulating all the items I need to begin casting boolits for my 44 Magnum and 44 Special and would appreciate some advice regarding my choice of alloy. I have ordered a Lyman 429421 4 cavity mould for use with both 44 revolvers. I have on hand 50 pounds of #2 alloy and 40-50 pounds of pure lead. I am considering using straight #2 alloy for the 44 Magnum with the intention of keeping velocities in the 1200-1400 fps range for use as a hunting boolit. For the 44 Special I was thinking of blending 60% lead with 40% #2 alloy and keep velocities in the 950 fps range. The 44 Special round is intended for plinking, etc. Do you guys think I am on the right path regarding my choice of alloy recipe? I am excited to begin casting my own custom boolits and would appreciate any comments/words of wisdom that may come my way.

Thanks,
L&L

Bigslug
12-28-2013, 10:55 PM
Your #2 alloy is 90% lead, 5% tin, 5% antimony and should air cool to 15BHN. I'm into the KISS principle, so I would probably add enough lead to get the sn and sb down to about 3%, which should get your hardness down to about 12BHN (OK, the math is easier for 2.5% and 11BHN), and use that for both the magnums (ideal) and specials (a tad hard, but perfectly usable). Basically wheel-weight hardness but with a higher tin percentage.

The mix you talk of is probably going to get you in the 10BHN range - which would be ideal for your special load, .45ACP, and things of that ilk. I'm just more about 2-for-1 solutions to questions like yours.

LowNleft
12-29-2013, 12:21 PM
Bigslug,