PDA

View Full Version : Bunged Up Dies

Guy La Pourque
12-25-2013, 05:55 PM
Hey guys - I'm new to this BPCR nonsense. I have been admonished not to shoot the Holy Black in lever guns but my conscience won't let me go smokeless in my 1876 repro. (I yam a man of morals and ethics dontchya know...:))

In any event I cooked up a century's worth of the official BPCR lube (I think it was citronella, beeswax and Crisco) and it seems to work good enough...

Problem is I seem to get this lube all over everything...my hands, the cartridges, in the dies and some even gets on the bullets. Am I doing something wrong? Do you have any tricks for cleaning out dies?

Red River Rick
12-25-2013, 06:02 PM
..........and some even gets on the bullets. Am I doing something wrong? Do you have any tricks for cleaning out dies?

The lube is supposed to get on the bullet............that's why they call it bullet lube!

Sounds like your having a bad time of it. How are you lubing your bullets...........pan lubing I hope.

Unless you live in the tropics and have to worry about lots of mosquitos's, I'd do away with the citronella (whatever) and use peanut oil.

Read thru some of the old posts, you'll find all the info you seek.

RRR

country gent
12-25-2013, 06:21 PM
I have a small fixed cleaning rod about 3" long I made for cleaning revolver cylinders that also works great with a nylon bore brush and bore mop for cleaning dies. Sometimes a little belling of the case mouth keeps thelube where it belongs better. Other wise a rag and wipe the rounds downafterwards and occasionally clean the dies.

fouronesix
12-25-2013, 06:38 PM