PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 4500 Problems

alexanderkidd
12-15-2013, 10:07 PM
I'm pretty new to casting, and got into the game with the Lyman Master Casting Kit and included Lyman 4500 lube sizer.

At first the handle was very difficult to crank with the included Super Moly lube. I went ahead and purchased the heating element for the unit, which didn't come with it for some reason. That seemed to make it much easier to crank, and better flow into lube grooves.

Since then though, lubing bullets has been quite a mess. Some of this is probably my newness to the whole process, but I believe I've gotten through intro problems like pushing the bullet in too deep, etc. But the unit seems to ooze lube out of the bottom, at the end of the sizing die. It also gets to where lube oozes out of the sizing die at the top when there's bullet in it and the sizing die plug is totally flush with the top of the die. It kind of slowly forms a lube ribbon at the top.

All of this drops lube on the floor and makes bullets quite a mess, requiring a lot of wiping and cleaning excess lube. Also I'm only seeming to get about 200-300 bullets lubed with a stick of Super Moly, Orange Magic, or Lyman Alox, which seems like not a lot for $5 worth of lube product.

I've been tempted to drop lubing in the unit completely and just tumble lube with Lee Liquid Alox, but I had hoped I could at least get the Orange Magic working since it claims to be a low-smoke lube... My auto pistol reloads tend to be smokier than I would like.

Is there something I'm doing wrong to have so many problems with lubing with a 4500? I really didn't anticipate sizing and lubing to go so slowly/be so messy.

gspgundog
12-15-2013, 10:18 PM