PDA

View Full Version : Swaging Productivity - How Long Does It Take?

ricklaut
12-11-2013, 11:52 PM
One of the things I wondered about before committing to purchasing my dies was how much time it would take to make bullets. Now that I have BT's complete set, I have a preliminary feel for it. I did a time study aimed at measuring how long it would take to make 100 bullets.

Lots of caveats here...
* I'm new at this (...so it follows that I will probably find additional efficiencies)
* I wasn't rushing, but I wasn't slouching either. I was trying to apply the "slow is smooth; smooth is fast" philosophy.
* Others may have different workflows
* I made use of my 'swaging accessories', which I created in order to save myself time.
* Some tasks obviously take longer than what's shown, but I did large batches (i.e. casting & annealing) and then averaged out the time per 100. This also takes into account startup / shutdown time.
* These tasks are spread out over time, it wasn't all done in one session (i.e. casting, derimming & core swaging in August; core seating / point forming over the past two days). In all cases, though, I used the stopwatch and took notes.

So, here's how it shakes out:

Casting Cores: 8.25 min / 100
Derimming: 5 min / 100
Annealing: 4 min / 100
Core Swaging: 9.43 min / 100 (shameless plug... I wasn't picking them up off the floor; they fall into the swaging tray. On average, 6 pieces / 100 miss the tray. This also applies to core seating & point forming).
Core Seating: 8.5 min / 100 (another shameless plug... I was using the core shaker. I timed myself without the core shaker / tray (manually placing cores into jackets from two containers and then going into the press). That took a little over twice as long - ~20 min / 100).
Point Forming: 8.5 min / 100

The above tasks total ~44 min / 100.

Additional tasks, including: