PDA

View Full Version : new reloader with a question or 2

edadmartin
12-11-2013, 09:12 PM
Hello guys, hope this is in the correct area. Ive been doiing due diligence on reloading for 3 months, so I hope this isnt to stupid of a question.Im reloading 45 acp. on my lee 4 stage turret with factory crimp die Using accr# 2 with lazer cast 200gr swc..452. All bullets have been sized and all case length has been done to .897. so My question is, after loading up a few I noticed a small shaving of the bullet. how do I correct this? also I've noticed a slight dip in the casing diameter in the middle. At the mouth after crimping it measures .471--in the center it measures .469 and at the primer end rim it measure .472. The bullet drops into my 1911 barrel no problem and my evolution size guage it drops in all the way except for the last 1/16" near the rim. How do I correct these problems? which die needs adjusting? what should I look at next thanks

OuchHot!
12-11-2013, 09:40 PM
Slightly more flair at the mouth may help with the shaving. I have shot quite a few (!) .45acp with the slight swelling at the boolit with no problems. The critical thing is that you verified the round drops in and is flush with the end of the barrel/chamber hood. In the old days, there were no carbide dies and we had to lube our cases but the dies fit the case/chamber profile better. Nowadays the carbide die sort of over sizes part of the system in the process of getting tight bullet fit. Did that make any sense? Short form is I am not sure that you have a problem other than the shaving.

12-11-2013, 09:41 PM
Howdy.

1. The lead being shaved is because the case mouth hasn't been expanded enough to accept the boolit.