PDA

View Full Version : Advise for starting with a 3030 lee loader

Elbow
12-11-2013, 07:35 PM
I am just starting out so far I have about 100 wheel weight ingots and a Model 94 winchester made in 1939. Now I want to cast my own 170 grain gas check bullets and load them with a Lee LoAder. My wife is getting the mold for me for Christmas and I will get the lee loader. Any tips? Any other items or tool I need besides powder and primers?

Wayne Smith
12-11-2013, 08:15 PM
Get a powder scale. You can pick up a used Lyman or RCBS from eBay but get one. You will need one to verify the consistency of your scooping if nothing else. Get at least two good reloading manuals, I would suggest the Lyman and the Sierra, but I'm prejudiced. If you are like most of us you will want the flexibility of different boolits and loads, the manuals and the scale give you that. get a kinetic bullet puller, you will eventually put a boolit on one and forget the powder!

With those four additions you are set for the slow but thorough loading of one caliber. If you substitute a simple Lee press and set of dies you are set for starting other calibers. Your choice. I started with a 30-30 Lee Loader and a 16ga Lee Loader.

rking22
12-11-2013, 09:40 PM
You are on the track to a great new hobby! I have several presses but still enjoy loading on the LEE sets.