PDA

View Full Version : LEAD BULLETS IN THE 6.5x55

DUCKINDEACON
12-02-2013, 01:02 PM
I am new to this web site, but have been warned about starting a food fight about an old issue--a good starting/working load for the 6.5 Swede. The cartridge has been in my stable for years...so I'm sold on it; that is a settled item with me. Have loaded jacketed bullets for years, but now want to load cast.

I have a RCBS mold #266469, allows for GC and drops wheel-weight cast at 140 grains. I plan to size to .265 and the rifle is a Kimber conversion of the Swede 96 with the customary long freebore. Barrel twist is 7.8 and bright as new. Lube will be Lyman orange, but am looking at the "Ben's Red" as described on this site.

Live in South Texas Hill Country with feral Hogs galore. Am looking for a quiet, sub-sonic (if possible) load for night-time wet work.

DUCKINDEACON

Comrade Mike
12-02-2013, 01:12 PM
There's a fantastic thread on this topic over on Gunboards pinned up in the Scandinavian military firearms forum. It's worth the read and I consider it the holy grail on cast 6.5x55

Baja_Traveler
12-02-2013, 02:04 PM
I shoot that same bullet (BRP Mold) out of my Swede (sized .266 with Carnuba Red) with great accuracy using 4895. I used it for several years shooting Military Bolt silhouette matches until I got a wonderful Mosin that could shoot a heavier bullet - center shots would occasionally ring 200 yard rams at my range with the 6.5, so needed a little more weight...

nanuk
12-04-2013, 07:52 PM
I have a RCBS mold #266469
DUCKINDEACON

???
RCBS, or Lyman?

zomby woof
12-04-2013, 10:28 PM
I shoot the Lyman boolit in an M96. I use IMR 4198 16-17 grains with a tuft of Dacron.

JonB_in_Glencoe
12-04-2013, 11:34 PM
the rifle is a Kimber conversion of the Swede 96 with the customary long freebore. Barrel twist is 7.8 and bright as new.