PDA

View Full Version : Which mold to try first?

twoshotc
11-30-2013, 12:30 PM
I have been using cast bullets in .357 swc from Lucky 13. I use them in a S&W 686 and a Rossi twenty inch model 92. They have been chambering in both 38's and 357 in the Rossi.
I was happy that both would chamber since many folks have trouble with one of the two.
I am not sure how good the accuracy is with these bullets in the Rossi. I am still working with the sights and trigger.
The load has been 7.8gr of Herco under the 158 gr bullets for .357 and 4.7gr of Herco in the 38s.
My question is -- I am considering trying to cast my own and I do not have a clue what mold to buy. I just do informal target shooting but I would like the bullets to be adequate for defense of the homestead. I realize that there maybe a lot of choices but bring them on.
thanks
twoshotc

ShooterAZ
11-30-2013, 12:46 PM
My recommendation would be either the RCBS 38-158-CM, or the 38-140-CM. I have no experience with the Rossi M92, but these two boolits have served me well in all the 38/357's I own. For me, the Round Flat designs just seem more accurate than a SWC, in my guns anyway. The RCBS molds are a little spendy and are only 2 cavity, but worth every penny in my opinion.

paul h
11-30-2013, 01:55 PM
I'd suggest the lee 158 rf in the 6 cavity mold

MtGun44
11-30-2013, 04:14 PM
Lee 358 158 RF would be a good one. It is superbly accurate in my.357s and has a LBT sort of
WFN contour, so PROBABLY will feed in the Rossi, depending on how picky it is. Not having
a .357 levergun, I have no clue how much they complain about shapes other than RN.

But it IS a great design and very accurate.

Bill

cbrick
11-30-2013, 04:38 PM
And by the way twoshotc, welcome to CastBoolits . . . :mrgreen:

Rick

MtGun44
11-30-2013, 06:40 PM
I failed to notice the post count. A newbie is worthy of a bit more
effort.

Welcome, sir.

Hope your project works out. The primary issue is getting