PDA

View Full Version : 401043 Lyman 38-40 mold

smkummer
11-11-2007, 11:30 AM
Is anyone having trouble with this bullet not holding in position and pushing itself into the case in tube loading guns? My plan was to use this in a Colt lightning which holds 15 carts.. thanks Mike

Morgan Astorbilt
11-11-2007, 02:24 PM
Yes I had this problem with my original Marlin 1894. The bullets don't have a crimp groove. I 've since bought the RCBS version: .40-180 CM, and this is what I've been using for three years, for cowboy action shooting. This mold is listed in thier cowboy action series. You can also get a better roll crimp with their cowboy action dies. Lately all their "regular" dies have been supplied with what they call modified roll crimps, look like taper crimps to me.
Morgan

John F.
11-11-2007, 05:39 PM
You're not alone -- Mike Venturino has long noted that this bullet dates back to black powder days, when it was supported by the powder charge in the case and thus a crimp over the ogive was sufficient. You MIGHT find that a Lee Factory Crimp die would crimp it enough to work in your rifle, but it also might possibly be hard on your brass to crimp it that much.

John

smkummer
11-11-2007, 06:49 PM
I plan on using modern smokeless loads, so the RCBS appears the way to go. Although has anyone tried the Lee TL 175 gr SWC? If I were to crimp in the last TL cavity will I be OK on the OAL? I always wondered why it was the standard 38-40 bullet all those years and worked. Now I know that it was the bulk blackpowder that held it from moving into the case.

Morgan Astorbilt
11-11-2007, 06:51 PM