PDA

View Full Version : Rws 54 air king

GARD72977
11-05-2013, 01:23 PM
I am very new to high end airguns. I decided to purchase one to hone my skills for the ML competitions that I have started shooting. After a little research I think the RWS 54 Air King my be the gun for me. My intention is to hone my existing skill not to learn to shoot a spring piston air gun. Any thoughts on these. My budget is a little short for this right now. I had rather sell/save for a few weeks to buy the right gun the first time.

MT Chambers
11-05-2013, 02:26 PM
If you don't really want to learn to shoot a spring piston gun, I'd suggest a PCP type airgun, some, like the Marauder or Hatsan are quite affordable, if you're stuck on springers, I'd recommend an AA 200TX or Weihrauch.

rattletrap1970
11-05-2013, 02:31 PM
I have a RWS model 52. I think its a fairly easy gun to learn (not like a PCP, but still OK). The 54 is a little weird cause the action slides in the stock. i never like that. They tout it as a recoil absorbing thing (and they do recoil), the 52 is the same gun but with the action fixed in place. All in all it is a very good, powerful spring gun.

GARD72977
11-05-2013, 03:12 PM
I may be more confused not than before. Thanks for the input guys. I guess there is some more research to do. The RWS 54 seemed appealing because from what I have read it does not matter how you hold the gun it shoots the same. I don't mind the weird recoil I just want something to practice lining up the sights and pulling the trigger. Im wanting something quality.

backroad
11-05-2013, 08:26 PM
I have rws models 34 and 48 both older guns 96 and 97 both very accurate and fun.But the 34 is the gun i always grab first much lighter and shoots freehand a lot better.

JonB_in_Glencoe
11-05-2013, 08:58 PM
I love the model 54, I have one in .177 and one in .22 they are tack drivers, much more so then standard spring-air rifles in my hands.

What I think the sliding action does ???