PDA

View Full Version : Reloading newbe needs your help

PrecisionAmmunition
11-05-2013, 08:07 AM
Hey everyone,

I am not new to reloading, I have been reloading shotshell for a few years now. Now I have decided to jump into rifle reloading for my 22 250 I picked up and I need suggestions what reloader I should be looking at and which does I should be using etc etc etc . . . .

Open to all suggestions or advice.

Thanks in advance,

PA

ray h
11-05-2013, 09:44 AM
My suggestion would be buy a reloading manual like Sierra, read it twice. I'd buy the best equipment my budget would allow. When I started I ordered the A2 but got the new A3, I've been using it ever since. Good stuff will last your life time.

Wayne Smith
11-05-2013, 11:16 AM
Since you have been loading shotgun probably on what is essentially a progressive machine you will be tempted to go that way. My advice is - Don't! Get a good single stage press, most everybody makes one. The Lee Cast Iron is probably the best at that price point today, and a good press to boot. Learn to load one at a time, then batch, and make your mistakes one cartridge at a time. You will make mistakes! A bullet puller is an essential tool for the reloader. I would suggest Hornaday, Lyman, or RCBS dies and shell holder. I assume you already have a powder scale, if not the RCBS 510 or 1010 (I don't trust the electronic scales!). At least two manuals, and the Sierra is a good one as is the Lyman. I think all the shotgun powders are too fast for the 22-250 so you will need primers, powder and bullets. You are already a reloader so you know how things accumulate! This is just a start.

Ed_Shot
11-05-2013, 11:44 AM
+1 for the Lee Classic Cast Press. Reasonable price and a superb machine made to last a lifetime.

Greg B.
11-05-2013, 11:45 AM