PDA

View Full Version : Wheel weight questions

starmac
10-31-2013, 02:47 PM
I am new to the smelting world. I have been reading and learning for a while,but haven't actually started yet.

I have a couple of full five gallon buckets of the dirtiest wheel weights I can imagine . I picked these up from a tire store that had closed down, and they must have been sitting around for a long time. One of the buckets had a large amount of dirt/mud in with them.
I tried soaking these a few pounds at a time and hand cleaning them. This didn't work very well.
I have now poured out and scattered them on the shop floor and let them totally dry, scraping them dried dirt and the worst of the rust scale off of them individually, which is very time consuming. I'm thinking I should have built some kind of tumbler, but didn't really want to for this small amount.

The metal clips are still very rusty and the lead itself is rust colored.
My question is how dirty is too dirty to be able to smelt and flux these enough to be acceptable, or should I have never even started this labor intensive project.

I have for sure learned lesson #1 with this first batch of wheel weights. lol
Would it be better to smelt these in small batches or large. I do not have a problem building a large pot to smelt them in.

TenTea
10-31-2013, 03:15 PM
They might smell like the devil when you smelt them down, but the *impurities* can be skimmed off the top along with the clips.
Mix well while fluxing the melt with sawdust or wax a time or two and I predict you'll be ok.
Sounds like maybe a pressure wash of the weights could have helped for preparation?

starmac
10-31-2013, 03:32 PM
I thought about the pressure wash thing, but Mine would blow them out of any container I could come up with. lol

w5pv
10-31-2013, 04:06 PM
I have used just water hose pressure to take a lot of the loose dirt and grime off be sure to throughly let them dry before smelting.I do this on my drive when it good and dry.

starmac