PDA

View Full Version : A black virgin

Limey
11-08-2007, 01:20 PM
Help!.....I'm a black powder virgin....

I have been shooting smokeless for 30 years and have always cast and reloaded my own. Sadly, there has alway's been too much month left at the end of the money so I have alway's had to find way's to make my shooting cheaper and casting and reloading my own was the way to go.....plus, you always knew what you were letting off!

Anyway, I have just bought my first BP gun....it's a Pedersoli 45/70 Sharps replica and I want to get some BP rounds loaded up and test it.......

My question is.....is it safe to use my Lee powder dumper/measure to dose out the black stuff into the brass?......I do not want to blow the house up!.....if no, what are your suggestions please?

The powder I have bought to start up with is FFg.

Safe shooting

Limey

EDK
11-08-2007, 02:06 PM
There are a lot of "horror stories" and "old wives' tales" concerning black powder, static electricity, measures and the combination of all three. Some people even get excited about plastic products like funnels, but SWISS comes in a plastic container similair to most smokeless powder containers.

In the interest of caution--and better ammunition!--I use a set of LEE dippers and weight each charge for my SHILOH SHARPS 50/90. Rifle ammo isn't usually produced in the same quantity as pistol ammo, so there isn't much reason to use the powder measure anyhow. You'll also probably be using a drop tube to "settle the powder" plus an over powder wad and a compression die.

You might want to go to shilohrifle.com/forums, goexpowder.com or one of the other numerous black powder shooting sites. Get a copy of Mike Venturino's SHOOTING BUFFALO RIFLES OF THE OLD WEST (autographed if you buy it from him) or Randolph Wrights LOADING & SHOOTING PAPER PATCH BULLETS, A BEGINNER'S GUIDE. The Wright book is profusely illustrated and covers basic loading as well as paper patch.