PDA

View Full Version : .40 S&W with J-word bullets... Seating/crimp issues

Animal
10-25-2013, 09:22 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to this type of cartridge. I understand that case tension should be sufficient to hold a bullet in place and the taper-crimp process is more of a process to remove the flare on the case mouth than it is an actual crimp (like with revolvers).

I'm loading these rounds with the Lee 3 die, plus FCD. When I seat the bullet in the case to the correct length, run it through the FCD and chamber it in the firearm... the COL decreases.

I'm using using Noslder, Hodgdon and Lyman load data. Right now, I am loading dummy rounds without powder and primer so that I can get a feel for the mechanics of this round and the function of the new die set.

Is this normal when seating to the published 'min oal'? For example, when I seat to 1.085; is it normal to eject that same round and fine that it measures at 1.079? When I cycle the same round back through it gets shorter... and shorter...[smilie=b:

135gr Nosler JHP, Starline virgin brass

S&W MOD 4013TSW 40 Tactical

Moonie
10-25-2013, 01:04 PM
If you are having setback issues do yourself and those that shoot around you a favor and taper crimp those rounds. It doesn't take much setback to cause pressures to skyrocket in this cartridge.

Hardcast416taylor
10-25-2013, 06:02 PM
When our local Sheriffs dept. was changing over to a .40 S&W from the S&W model 19 quite awhile back,I was on the panel that tested for accuracy and all around functioning. We found that the 165 gr jacketed rounds supplied by Federal gave the best accuracy and functioning in the Glock pistols tested. The Sheriff however over ruled our findings and went with the 180 gr. loading for better penetration of auto metal, etc.Robert

williamwaco
10-25-2013, 08:58 PM