PDA

View Full Version : should I shoot these as cast

str8shot
10-22-2013, 08:31 PM
I'm a noob to casting. Ive casted some pure lead for my bp rifles in the past and recently started casting some 9mm 124 rn with a lee mold.thanks to everyone here I was able to work out the bugs with that pesky little 9. had some tumbling issues at first but switched to a slower powder and poof no more issues.
Came across a mold for .44 Using wheel weights it seems to cast a little on the large side ( .435 to .438 )at about 230 gr.
Really didn't want to buy a sizing die. I didn't want the cost or the extra step. I was also hoping to get by with pan lubing.
I've never seen a boolit of this type before, with the hollow base.
Am I asking for trouble shooting the at this size????
I shoot a Ruger Redhawk so i have faith the gun can take some pressure but no reason risking life or limb.
Any input would be appreciated

srt8shot

Cherokee
10-22-2013, 08:45 PM
Well, make up a dummy round; if you can seat a boolit, crimp it and it will chamber in the Redhawk, give a few a try. If the dunny round will not fully chamber, then a sizing die is in order. If the round will chanber with the as-cast size, then pick a starting load for the first try. When the pressures hit the boolit base, they WILL fit the cylinder throat and then the barrel. Never seen that design before.

str8shot
10-22-2013, 08:55 PM
Thanks cherokee,
I will give them a week to cure and make up a dummy round.
Would I get smaller diameters if I used pure lead ???

Shiloh
10-22-2013, 09:29 PM
Thanks cherokee,
I will give them a week to cure and make up a dummy round.
Would I get smaller diameters if I used pure lead ???

Probably will get smaller diameters wit pure lead.

Shiloh

str8shot
10-23-2013, 12:52 AM
Thanks shilo,
I thought I read that it would cast smaller diameters.