PDA

View Full Version : 5.56 and .223 cases the same?

Springfield
10-19-2013, 08:54 PM
I tried to shoot my 300 BLK to day and had some dissappointing results, but my main question is this: Do I need to separate my 5.56 from my.223 brass before I convert it t 300 BLK? Someone told me that today and he is pretty knowledgeable about most things so I didn't want to argue with him. Seems to me just the chambers are different, but he said that the 5.56 military brass is thicker. I am no AR expert, so how about enlightening me. And as to the results, I was trying some Unique in the cases(7,8 and 9 grains with a 175 grain bullet) and most of the time the bolt would start to unlock and then jam, enough so that it was very difficult pull the bolt back to extract the brass. Another guy said I needed WAY more lube on the bolt, what do I know, I was taught to lightly lube things, not drench it. Maybe that doesn't work on AR's. The bolt goes forwards and locks easily enough empty and when single loaded. And the cartridges drop into the chamber just fine when single loaded. Bad choice of powder? Turn up the adjustable gas port more? Just needs to break in? All the bullets hit a 8" plate at 50 yards just fine, at least no shotgun patterns.

GRUMPA
10-19-2013, 09:05 PM
The main important factor when converting those is the head stamp. I make those all the time and foreign garbage goes in the garbage. Other than your loads you should be good to go.

WILCO
10-19-2013, 09:31 PM
Seems to me just the chambers are different, but he said that the 5.56 military brass is thicker.

http://www.luckygunner.com/labs/5-56-vs-223/

mac1911
10-19-2013, 09:40 PM
the chambers are different....as for the rounds. From all I have come to understand is 5.56 NATO cartridges are loaded to a higher preasure than saami 223 reminton. When this comes into play is when the lead or throat is shorter in a particular chamber.
I dont think you will find a substantial difference in the actual case demensions.