PDA

View Full Version : Size, GC, and Lube At The Same Time?

gunboat57
10-18-2013, 09:20 PM
I've been casting for a few years now and can pour decent bullets now and then. But I'm just getting into GCs, sizing, and using hard lube. I have a Lyman 450 lube and size press.
After casting my Lee C312-185 boolits, I want to attach a GC, size to .312, and fill the grooves with hard Alox/beeswax lube. I'm trying to do all of these operations at the same time in my Lyman press.
I have the press adjusted so the grooves are at the lube holes at the same time the GC is fully seated. I've done about 30 boolits this way so far and it seems to be working. Messy, but working.
Are you SUPPOSED to do it this way? Is it better to crimp the GCs on first, then lube and size in a second operation?

btroj
10-18-2013, 09:28 PM
I always add checks while sizing and lubing.

williamwaco
10-18-2013, 09:43 PM
You CAN do it that way.

I used to do it that way.

If you do, you will find a moderate percentage of the checks will seat and crimp crooked.

I now seat the checks in operation one, then size and lube second.

I don't know if the 450 comes with the gas check seater.
If it does not, use your die wrench, the one you use to remove the nut that holds the die in place.
Lay the wrench flat on top of the die.
Place the check on the bullet as straight as possible with your fingers.
Set the bullet on the die wrench check down and use the 450 as a press.
Pull the handle down and insert the nose of the bullet into the top punch align it straight up and down and press the bullet into the check setting on the flat side of the wrench.
Now size and lube.

I seat them all-then size them all. You can seat them, set the wrench aside, then lube them. Your preference.

runfiverun
10-18-2013, 11:53 PM
bet a penny/nickel/dime would work just fine too.

M Hicks
10-19-2013, 11:21 AM
You CAN do it that way.

I used to do it that way.