PDA

View Full Version : use a reamer to make a BB mould FB ?

varmint243
10-17-2013, 05:07 PM
I just ordered a Lee six cavity 45 mould but don't like BB bullets.
I also ordered a .452 reamer off of Ebay to make the six cavity BB mould into a FB mould.
Have others done this mod and have tips/pros/cons to offer ?
In a past life I was a machinist, so I'm thinking I can pull this off ?
If I can't find an easier way to cast 1k bullets on a Saturday afternoon.........
The RCBS 2 cavity mould works great, but takes a long time to get the bullet count up.
I ordered two Lee six cavity moulds (38 and 45) to see if they do better in the quantity department.

thanks, DaveV

paul h
10-17-2013, 05:25 PM
Not a problem, did that with a lee 358 158 gr mold. It's not as ideal is zeroing each cavity in on a mill or lathe and boring it out, but I didn't see an accuracy problem with a mold that was fb'd with a reamer. I'm assuming you'll be using a drill press? Just dial in the speed and make sure you set the quill stop so you don't go too deep. You might see a little bit of chatter, but that'll clean up in the lube/sizer.

I'm a big fan of the lee 6 cavity molds, great way to produce a quantity of quality bullets in a hurry.

country gent
10-17-2013, 07:07 PM
I would set it up in a drill press and lock the blocks in a square vise or true angle Plate on location. Chuck reamer in spindle and turn spindle by hand. Normally a reamer wants a slow rpm and this is an easy way to acheive it. Spidle and set up assure squareness, Hand turnning gets slow speed needed. Use a good cutting oil liberally also. Set the drill press stop to avoid chamfering edge of nect "groove" would be a good idea also. It will take a solid set up to keep the blocks from springing open.

varmint243
10-17-2013, 08:16 PM
well, stupid me forgot to think about shrinkage and the .452 reamer didn't clean it all the way up because the mould has to be oversize.