PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question...What do you mean start here??

Squeaky3436
10-15-2013, 08:34 PM
So I am new to reloading and I want to be smart about it before I get my hands dirty so I have done extensive research and read through the suggested manuals etc... and I still come up with a couple of the same questions I can’t seem to find a clear answer on...

1. When using cast boolits, can I use the data I find from the powder manufacturer as long as the boolit is the same weight? Ex. Per Alliant...9mm 124g Speer, 5.8g of Unique with CCI Primer is the only recipe for a 124 grain boolit. Is this formula OK for use with a 124 grain Lead Cast Boolit?

2. What do these "experts" mean when they say "That’s a good starting point?" My understanding is that starting near the bottom of the suggested recipe is smart and you "work your way up to a comfortable load" but...how do I know when I am at that point or where to start when only charge weight is suggested? Ex. The same recipe from Alliant above, when reviewing other forums most responses I found had people using 4.2-4.7g of Alliant with Cast 124g Boolits.

Thanks for de-ratteling this n00bs brain!

Lonegun1894
10-15-2013, 09:36 PM