PDA

View Full Version : I am lost. Need advice.

Half Fast
10-03-2013, 08:52 PM
Hello. This is my first post. I have been hunting and shooting muzzleloaders for 14 years, on and off, between that and a couple of rifles have taken all my deer (I only hunt whitetail). For a long time I was a traditionalist and did not believe in inlines. I am much more educated now, and have been shooting inlines the last couple of years, starting with a knight tbolt .50, then a cva optima elite 7mm-08 that I bought a .45 bergara muzzleloader barrel for (1/28 24", 209), and now I have picked up a white model 97 .504. Both the cva and the white are sweet shooters.

My conundrum is that I have a mindset to refuse to believe what the bullet manufacturers are trying to push. I am paying over a buck a piece for crying out loud. I shot the cva 62 times one weekend (primer count). I figure I spent about 75 bucks in materials for the loads. My father in law and I used to cast a lee real .50 240 grain that I used in sidelocks with 90 grain 2f and killed piles of deer.

I have this cva optima elite .45 muzzleloader. I bought a dial caliper, and I am going to figure out how to use it. I want to take 45-70 bullets and size them in my barrel by loading backwards about half way, then push them out the breech after the breach plug has been removed. As I understand it (I have never reloaded centerfire) the 45-70 bullet is .458 and my barrel is probably in the .451-3 range.

I am willing to buy the right mold, but I am having trouble finding first hand accounts of those that have been down this road. I would prefer to learn from the experience of others, rather than reinvent the wheel. Am I nuts? I appreciate any direction.

Outpost75
10-03-2013, 09:07 PM