PDA

View Full Version : Anyone learning Guitar?

seagiant
10-01-2013, 03:32 PM
Hi,
I have always wanted to try learning Guitar but always put it off as other things got in the way. I am left handed so that put me off also. Lately I found a left handed Fender DG-10 from the mid 90's and decided to get it and see what happens. I'm now just trying to learn how to form the cords and admit its not easy but was told it will get easier with steady practice! Time will tell. Maybe there are others here that play?

longranger
10-01-2013, 04:38 PM
I have been playing since I was 15 years old(56 now) and still learning. In my opinion the electric guitar is far easier to learn on than the acoustic.You can play longer and learn faster with lighter gauge strings on the electric. That said it will take determination to get somewhere with the acoustic. You can self learn from You Tube, lots of lessons there. 35 years of playing has taught me,
1. learn the blues scale and it's five positions. I learned it early and it has allowed me to easily master songs by giving me the dexterity to achieve my desired song.
2. Find a good guitar teacher that can teach you finger style in it's full realm of picking patterns not just pieces of some major and minor deviations of the full pattern.
I do have a preference for acoustic guitars and mostly play them now,but I can still Rock on the electric.
Perseverance is your friend, my SIL started a few years ago and is doing quite well good luck and don't be discouraged, it is one of the most satisfying things I have ever done. It will relieve more stress from life than any other stimulant.

Pepe Ray
10-01-2013, 04:39 PM
I envy your courageous plunge.
I love acustic guitar music, country, bluegrass, latin, classical etc. Seventy five years of abuse, busted fingers and doubt.

God Bless your endeavors.
Pepe Ray

EDG
10-01-2013, 06:33 PM