PDA

View Full Version : Fluxing, how often?

Dales66Ford
09-30-2013, 09:04 PM
I have been reading and trying to absorb as much info as I can from this site. I mostly do pure lead casting and my fluxing so far has been simple. The one thing I have gathered from this site is that there are no rules when it comes to fluxing. Sawdust, wax, left over hair out of the drain, as long as you flux, doesn't matter the material. I would like to know how often the alloy needs to be fluxed. Is there any indication from the melt that it needs to be fluxed again?

John Boy
09-30-2013, 09:14 PM
I flux the melt 2x before I start casting and that's it for the pot

Dales66Ford
09-30-2013, 09:18 PM
Regardless of how long the casting session is?

olereb
09-30-2013, 09:35 PM
I'm pretty new to casting but I have had good luck with fluxing 2-3 times with pine that I bought in a large bag at target,its sold as pet bedding.

wv109323
09-30-2013, 09:48 PM
I flux once or twice at the beginning of a casting session and then at least once every time I add lead to the pot.

geargnasher
09-30-2013, 09:53 PM
If using pure lead, all you need to do is reduce the oxides with a little wax. Sawdust is fine too, but un-necessary for clean metal that just needs the oxides turned back into useable metal.

Gear

bangerjim
09-30-2013, 09:56 PM
I flux 3x and reduce 3x when smelting to get ultra pure ingots of whatever.

Then I use ONLY bees wax in the casting pot, as the lead I put in there is as pure as it can possibly get.