PDA

View Full Version : BPCR Rifling Depth

brasshog
09-29-2013, 09:02 PM
I slugged my first barrel today and was suprised at the results The cartride is 38-50 Remington Hepburn ( Rem #5 Rolling Block-Smokeless) in a 1 in 14 twist green mountain barrel. I had assumed that it would mike out around .378 but instead it was a true .375 groove with the lands being .3695 . These were measured with a dial caliper since it is what I have. I'm no expert at rifling depth. My question "Is BPCR rifling depth differant for a BP rifle versus a smokless rifle ?". I assume that it would be due to possible fouling issues but don't honestly know. Also, what are your suggestions on proper cast boolit diameter for best results ? Thanks

EDG
09-29-2013, 09:53 PM
A lot of people have problems slugging barrels. I would suggest you make several tries especially if you get a diameter that is smaller than expected. Calipers are really not the tool of choice either. They have about 1/10 the resolution of a micrometer.

brasshog
09-29-2013, 10:27 PM
I agree that a micrometer is better for this but atm I do not own one. I took a large round ball and drove it through using a wooden dowel rod. Again, I'm new to this. Thanks

Chill Wills
09-29-2013, 11:16 PM
Brasshog, I think you did ok measuring the slug. It is about what I would expect (.375"). The minor diameter might be a little harder to measure but it does not make as much difference. You should be looking for a mould that will cast .376" or even .377". It is great if you do not have to reduce a bullet too much to get it to this size.

On the other hand, if the chamber in your rifle is cut with a large (diameter) cylinder, free bore, throat or cut sloppy or what ever... in front of the case, you might find a larger bullet more accurate. This line of logic is "shoot the largest diameter bullet that will chamber".