PDA

View Full Version : How much Linotype do I need ?

spokeshave
09-28-2013, 07:34 AM
I'm fairly new to lead hoarding and so far have only collected about 400# of coww. A freind of mine was buying some car parts from a guy and found out he also had "quite a stash of printer's lead" and yes he'd sell it. We went to see him yesterday he has +- 2000 # of linotype. He'd like $1.50 a pound for it if I only want a little of it but I can have it for $1 a pound if I take 1000 # or more. Will I need more than 1000# ?

Jim

imashooter2
09-28-2013, 07:48 AM
Used at a ratio of 3:1, that would be enough to make 4,000 pounds of alloy. 4,000 pounds sounds like lot, but how old are you, how much do you shoot and when do you plan to stop?

4,000 .45 ACP a year is over 130 pounds. If that's all you shoot, the stash would be gone in 30 years.

Worst case, you can sell what you don't want easily for that $1.50 and lower your cost basis in the metal you keep.

captaint
09-28-2013, 07:53 AM
spokeshave - You'd - I should say I would be a long, long time using us 1000# of lino. If you're mixing it with clip on WW's, you don't need that much. If you're loading pistol ammo, you don't need any. It is, of course, for you to decide. It is nice to have some around just in case. I think I have 200 # of lino. I don't load hardly any rifle ammo. Very little. I haven't used any of mine. Just my .02. Mike

lwknight
09-28-2013, 10:21 AM
Linotype at $1.00 per pound is a good investment. If you can swing it, take at least 1000 of it.
Linotype has $3.25 worth of constituent elements per pound and $2.25 of that is the tin and antimony

el34
09-28-2013, 10:43 AM
Don't lose track of the tin value, as well as the antimony.

Assuming COWW = 9.5BHN with no tin, and lino = 20BHN with 4% tin,
1lb COWW plus 0.3lb lino = 12BHN with 1% tin. The classic tin recommendation is 1-2%.
This lines up with imashooter's recommendation.

Defcon-One
09-28-2013, 10:55 AM