PDA

View Full Version : Tips and advice

carbine86
09-26-2013, 09:28 PM
I am just starting out with reloading/casting havent even reloaded yet my wife told me i cant buy anything else after i bought my lee reloading kit. Any tips for an easy way to get free or extremely cheap lead for casting. And would it be ok to use a cast iron pot on a hot plate for any melting/smelting i may need to do thanks in advance for any help guys(and gals i know there are a few out there).

country gent
09-26-2013, 09:33 PM
A cast iron pot is fine for casting or a steel pot pan, stay away from aluminum. A stand and wood fire with a shop vac for a blower to help the burn will create more than enough heat. A weed burner also will work. A turkey frier stand and burner also. A ladle and stand to work off of is all else thats needed. MAke sure your set up is solid stable and capable of holding the wieght you will have. As to sources of lead all you can do is look around scrap yards tire shops contractors ( roofing building)

texasbigcat
09-26-2013, 09:34 PM
Try going to a metal scrap yard the price is about .25 to .50 cents a lb.

BrassMagnet
09-26-2013, 10:54 PM
My turkey frier fell apart. Lead is a lot heavier than grease! One of my buddies welded a frame around the legs and it is a lot sturdier now.
I'm sure glad it didn't have a bunch of molten lead in it when it failed!

leeggen
09-26-2013, 11:37 PM
Hey brassmagnet how is the apprentice doing, last we heard he was getting ready to leave for awhile. Hope he is doing well
CD

Lead Fred
09-27-2013, 02:46 AM
Keep that pot and heat source outside.
I get all my lead from a local scrap yard

A good ladle is a deep metal spoon. I use several spoons while casting.

kbstenberg
09-27-2013, 08:39 AM
About the cheapest lead. If you can mine the berms your local range is about the cheapest. Just your time. Other than your tools.

BrassMagnet
09-27-2013, 09:32 AM