PDA

View Full Version : Making the Lee Enfield into Cock on Opening

303Guy
09-24-2013, 09:52 PM
Is there any information on doing this conversion? I do know that at one time conversion kits were available.

The cam on the cocking piece does not have enough travel to give it the strike needed but there's another cam at play and that's the primary extraction cam on the bolt lug and lug recess faces. Together that does give enough travel but I should think a stronger striker spring would be required.

Artful
09-24-2013, 10:33 PM
I remember COO conversion kits for a lot of surplus COC rifles like 1914, 1917, the '96 but never recall a SMLE conversion.

waksupi
09-25-2013, 02:54 AM
Being a great fan of Mauser rifles, I would vote against the conversion. I studied the idea for several years, and came to this conclusion, that also applies to your rifle.
These firearms are designed to work in the worst battlefield conditions you will encounter. The purpose for the cocking method is to provide positive extraction, and to encourage the necessary rapid forward bolt manipulation needed to make these types of bolt actions function correctly. This works extremely well, when you need a fast second shot, in combat, or hunting.
If you make the conversion, for some reason a desire to chamber a rifle with a slow motion occurs, which is the biggest cause of malfunctions in a bolt action.

gwpercle
09-26-2013, 01:24 PM
If anyone makes a conversion kit it would be Dayton Traister...but they do not show one available for the Lee-Enfield. I have never seen any information on doing this conversion or hearing of any gunsmith's providing it. If there is someone out there who can do it I am sure the member's will inform us.

enfield
09-26-2013, 08:30 PM
you gotta open it and you gotta close it, why on earth would it matter if it cocks on opening

KCSO
09-27-2013, 09:30 AM