PDA

View Full Version : Lee production pot PLUGGED

Mwsenoj
09-22-2013, 03:41 AM
I'm brand new to casting my own and I'm running into my first problem after casting my first lot of 100 or so boolits. Like the title says, I'm using a new Lee Production Pot and have used nuclear medicine containers for lead. I also have used paraffin wax for "flux" and now for the dummy move (maybe). I know sawdust is good to use as a real flux. I had just cleaned my shop out and didn't have any sawdust handy so I thought I might use sunflower seed shells since they are just cellulose too. The pour started out with a nonstop drip and then is all but plugged up now. I've wiggled and jiggled but no change is happening now. Is there a common way to clean out the mechanism of the drain? Thanks in advance.

Matt

Vinne
09-22-2013, 05:11 AM
What size pot do you have? A 10 or a 20 pounder?? Try a small torch directed at the spout for a few seconds while you lift the Valve Rod with a container to catch the flow. Also, bend a small a small wire or nail and try to clear the spout. USE GLOVES OR PLIERS AS THE WIRE WILL GET HOT FAST!!

On the 20# pot (4-20) there is a slot on top of the Valve Rod and a turn or two will, most of the time, clear the spout. If it still needs help, then ladle out as much of the lead as you can. Then remove the Valve Rod and tilt the pot back. Use a wire or nail to clear the spout. Hope this helps.

Sasquatch-1
09-22-2013, 07:58 AM
Vinne is pretty much spot on. With the Lee pots a flat head screw driver and a piece of wire, with something to hold it, is your best friend. Get the pot up to temperature and run something like a paperclip up and down in the spout until you get a good flow. If this doesn't work pour the lead out and carefully run a small drill bit through the spout. I also picked up some valve lapping paste at a local auto parts store and lapped the plug to the spout. As for the dripping, they came by the nickname "Drip-O-Matic" honestly.

ftut