PDA

View Full Version : Need a little advise....

hawgfan
09-17-2013, 10:32 PM
I have been casting for about 2 years now, recently my cast boolits have been coming out looking bad (look at the picture below). My alloy is 50% COWW and 50% Isotope Lead. I am using a Lee 6 cavity 175gn TL .40 cal mold. I thought it was because my mold wasn't up to temp, but after about 500 boolits cast today I started getting boolits like the ones in the picture below. It kind of acts like a fill out problem but I'm not sure, that's why I came here. One more thing out of about 1500 boolits cast today about 150 looked like the ones below. Thanks for any help you might be able to give me. At this point I am willing to try anything.

http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/ii9/hawgfan0705/060b512a-49f8-47e3-a4a0-5daf79ea99ad_zps49290f5c.jpg (http://s260.photobucket.com/user/hawgfan0705/media/060b512a-49f8-47e3-a4a0-5daf79ea99ad_zps49290f5c.jpg.html)

Alan in Vermont
09-17-2013, 10:53 PM
You don't mention having a thermometer. WAG says that your alloy is not hot enough. If you haven't changed settings I'd bet your pot has somehow taken to running cold.

hawgfan
09-17-2013, 10:58 PM
You don't mention having a thermometer. WAG says that your alloy is not hot enough. If you haven't changed settings I'd bet your pot has somehow taken to running cold.

Actually, I didn't mention I just got a new pot the Lee 20lb pot, and this was the first time I used it. I wouldn't think it was that, seeing that I casted about 500 before this started to happen. Don't know I'm confused.

runfiverun
09-17-2013, 11:15 PM
your mold can cool off even though you are using it.
my first lee pot would only get my ww alloy up to 615-f, worked pretty good with mehanite molds after I got them heated up.
once I figured out how to adjust the pot so it would run hotter, things got a lot better for me.

hawgfan
09-17-2013, 11:46 PM
your mold can cool off even though you are using it.