PDA

View Full Version : New problem- load info for report cannon

hpeach
09-02-2013, 02:55 PM
I've been reloading for more than 40 years, but need help for this one.
The 10gauge cannon we use for the signalling for the local yacht race needs
the hulls reloaded. I have no idea where to start with black powder load, and what kind of wadding to use.
this is my first time trying reloading without lead- help.

ofitg
09-02-2013, 03:39 PM
How about 50 grains of 3F, topped off with a thick wad made from crumpled-up aluminum foil?

Zymurgy50
09-02-2013, 03:57 PM
Personally I would use wadded up newspaper instead of the aluminum foil. Pyrodex or one of the other black powder substitutes should work as well.

DIRT Farmer
09-03-2013, 12:32 AM
You might look at fiber wads, when fired dry they break up into a cloud of fuzz and should not have a projectle effect.

imashooter2
09-03-2013, 06:20 AM
User smkummer has done it. You might want to PM him.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?54417-Win-10-gauge-signal-cannon

smkummer
09-06-2013, 09:13 AM